I made this // Swing Dress Tutorial

Hello humans, I am currently sitting in the warm sunshine getting some rays for both me and the babe. I love the sun so much. 

 

Anyways, I have a super easy swing/sun dress tutorial for you to try this week. It’s a great evening project and who doesn’t need more flowy dresses in their closet?

The dress in this tutorial is actually the second I’ve made from this pattern. The first one I added sleeves to, but I think this one is perfect for sunbathing or any day spent outdoors. 

I do recommend wearing it with a belt or dress cinch— well, in my case at least, with this nine month pregnancy belly, I need all the shape I can get. 

 

So, let’s hop on it. 

 

What you’ll need:

  • Swing dress pattern (I drafted mine from here)
  • Knit Fabric (about 2 yards)
  • Matching thread
  • Sewing machine 
  • Scissors 
  • Pins
  • Chalk
  • Measuring tape
  • Iron and ironing board 
 
First, cut out your pattern once on the fold. 
Next, cut your pattern not on the fold, adding 1inch for a seam allowance…
  
… and extend your neckline, using the back of a shirt as a guide. 
 
**You should have 3 pattern pieces at this point. 
 
Now pin the back dress pieces right sides together, and sew. 
 
Pin both of the shoulder seams together and sew. 
 Next, measure your neck hole and both arm holes.
Cut out three strips, 2 inches in width, and the lengths you’ve measured. 
 Iron the strips in half–
 Pin to the correct holes, sew, and iron flat. This finishes the seams. 
 
Sew side seams. Hem the bottom. 
And you’re done!!
 
I apologize for the low grade tutorial— like I’ve previously mentioned, I stink at writing these things. 
 
Tah-dah!
 
Good week to you!
 
Love, 
a dreamer. 
One thought on “I made this // Swing Dress Tutorial

Leave a Reply

