How YOU can detox sugar. My experience.

I have recently completed a 24 day, sugar detox (insert resounding applause here)!!
 
I’ve had quite of a few digestive issues, and over all health issues that really needed to be addressed. I’ve actually been addressing them slowly but surely for about a year now, so this was just part of the journey. 
 
Now, I’m not going to sugar coat it (no pun intended), this was probably the most difficult of diets I’ve tried, but that could have a lot to do with the fact that I am in my third trimester, and all you really want is chocolate ice cream. That’s just a how it goes. 
 
Although, I do think no matter where you are in life, this is possible! And absolutely beneficial to your health.  
 
Firstly, I’m going to recap my experience/results, then we will get to the tips/encouragement. 
 
 
|| Starting out, due to pregnancy, I abided by the “Trim Heathly Momma” rules, although I took out all of the starches and carbs.
 
 
The only exceptions were:
  • Berries
  • Quinoa
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Carrots 
 
Now, I allowed the “non sugar” sweeteners in moderation, but after two weeks, I felt like I really needed to shake things up a bit. My diet wasn’t bringing the results I needed. I still was struggling with my yeast infection and couldn’t shake that need for sweets.  
 
So after two weeks, I switched strictly to the “21 day sugar detox”. This allowed quinoa in moderation, all the carrots I wanted, a single green apple, and one green tip banana per day. It was a great change, even though I took out all other sweeteners, forcing my taste buds to settle down abit. 
 
The hardest things to give up were honey, fruit, dark chocolate, and white potatoes.
 
But, the yeast infection I’ve fought since I got pregnant is completely gone, and my resistance to processed foods, white breads, and sugary treats has gotten very strong. So I’d say it was successful. 
 
My plan now, is to incorporate the grains I know my body can handle, once a day. I’ll add back fruit, being cautious of my bodies reaction. I’ll limit myself strictly to organic sweeteners, and also my intake of those. I plan to allow white potatoes as a treat, basically once a month or so, simply because I am easily addicted to them. 
 
I’ve learned so much through this diet. Finding out what fruits are literally more sugar than anything beneficial, watching the effects of certain foods, and making myself eat a larger variety. I’ve also built an awareness to the sugars hidden in so many other foods, sauces, and “healthy foods” like dried fruit. 
 
I’ve already slipped up once since finishing my cleanse. I didn’t realize how much grain I was eating in one day because I was out and busy. That night, I couldn’t sleep and my body just ached. Now, the grains that I ate were all healthy and approved in my personal diet, I just should have limited myself to one single grain per day. 
 
The biggest reason I made myself stick to this diet during pregnancy is because I was developing gestational diabetes. I didn’t want to struggle with this during my last trimester so I took extreme measures. I’d gotten to the point that if I skipped a meal or didn’t eat just the right thing I’d pass or black out. Then I had to really spike my sugar to balance myself again. This wasn’t okay, so I changed it. 
 
Being pregnant, getting enough energy from fats and proteins alone was really difficult, although not impossible. I did have days when I just couldn’t do much.
 
There is supposedly a “switching point” when your body goes from running off of carbs to using fats for energy. I think I know when mine switched, but it’s hard to be certain because pregnancy is already quite tiring. 
 
All in all I feel much more empowered by and in control of my diet. I no longer feel like I’m always “giving in” to cravings, but instead, I know when I’ve earned a cheat meal and can consciously enjoy it. 
 
// Okay, the rest is for you!
 
 
It’s seems impossible, it’s pretty difficult, but it is such a good jump start to a healthier way of living. You can do it!
 
My biggest tips are:
  • Know your body (by this I mean, learn what your body can handle. What foods are hurting you vs which ones really energize you.)
  • Plan your meals (this seems overwhelming, but the way I did it was making a new Pinterest board specifically for my diet. I made it private so I wouldn’t be flooding everyone’s feed with weird recipes, but it was an easy access plan.)
  • Made list of do eats vs. don’t (do your own research. If you need to be able to eat more quinoa than is allowed, okay. But be reasonable. If you just keep adding things, you may end up restricting your diet for a month all in vain. You have to work with it for it to work for you.)
  • Keep easy access to your rules (I saved a photo to my phone so if I ever got confused, I could easily set myself straight again.)
  • Pick restaurants that have simple foods available, like meats and veggies. (This pretty much cancels out all fast food, unless it has really nice salads. But even then, they tend to serve fruit, croutons, or sugary dressings on them. Be aware of the ingredients!)
  • Keep a count down (know what day you’re on, how far you’ve come, and the short time you have left!)
  • Have meals made and easy to access (I made a lot of soups and veggies stir fries. I also kept cooked quinoa on hand.)
  • Plan a victory dessert ( I already posted about that amazing treat! Check it out here.)
  • Remember. It is only 21 days. Over before you know it. Just stay busy!
 
 
Look into the 21 day sugar detox plan. The author gives so much information, recipes, and encouragement. She has made an entire business out of this detox and if you want to get the most out of your experience, I highly recommend her program! 
 
 
Above is the list I followed for the most part. 


A few of go-to recipes that really helped me succeed:
 
Italian Wedding Soup (so my mother calls it)
 
Ingredients:
  • 1 pound of ground meat, browned
  • 1 bag of frozen spinach 
  • 1/2 cup raw quinoa
  • 32 ounces of chicken broth
  • 4 cups of water
  • Minced garlic
  • Onion powder
  • Italian seasoning
  • Salt and pepper 
 
Directions:
  1. Season the browned meat with the Italian seasoning, garlic, and onion powder. 
  2. Mix all ingredients into a large stock pot and cook until quinoa is transparent. 
  3. Salt and pepper to taste. 
 
 
Almond meal pancakes  minus the sweetener
 
 
 
Basic Veggie stir fry
 
Ingredients:
  • 1 yellow squash
  • 1 green zucchini 
  • 1 onion
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • Mushrooms
  • 1 can of garbanzo beans 
  • Garlic
  • Dill
  • Salt and pepper
 
Directions:
 
  1. Sauté fresh veggies in a skillet with your prefered oil
  2. Season to taste with seasonings listed
  3. Drain both the tomatoes and beans, then add to the skillet
  4. Cover and let simmer for five minutes
***Optional
You can add pretty much any meat to this meal. Sausage, chicken, browned ground meat.. 
 
Fat filled energizing breakfast (because on this diet, fats are good!)
 
Ingredients:
  • Butter
  • 2-3 eggs
  • Spinach
  • Turkey ham, bacon, or sausage
  • Avocado
  • Greek yogurt 
 
Directions:
  1. Melt butter in skillet
  2. Add spinach and cook until limp
  3. Add eggs over the top, salt and pepper to taste 
  4. Fry up meat on the side
  5. Serve with sliced avocado and a dollop of Greek yogurt 
 
There are so many more ideas, just do your research. You will still be able to snack, but on things like hummus and veggies or nuts or these
 
 
So there you go, you can do it. I’m certain.  
 
 
P.s. There aren’t any photos due to a phone switch I did where I lost all of last months data. Sorry!
 
Have a splendid week!
 
Love,
a dreamer. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
One thought on “How YOU can detox sugar. My experience.

Leave a Reply

