Becoming a Morning Person.

 

Last month I wrote a post about my serious need for a morning routine. It was more or less accountability for myself because I’ve never been a morning person.

EVER.

Until now?

Well, not really. I’m quite fond of the night, but I do actually get up in the morning and successfully start my day hours earlier than before, and I am a person. So I qualify. . Right?

And here is how—

Just. Do. It.

I know that is not what you want to hear, but it is the truth. More than any other tip I could conger up, the number one zinger is to just do it.

But don’t worry! I do have a bit more help on the subject. Through trial and error, I came up with this practical list of tips that were extremely useful in getting myself out of bed and conquer my love of sleeping late.

I just want you to realize there isn’t a magic potion, the only one who can change a bad habit in your life is, well. You.

If you try to make anyone else attempt breaking it, even your loving, charming, adorable, curly headed husband, you will only get frustrated.

YOU have to be dedicated, or it just won’t work.

Moving forward!

The first few days of my challenge were seriously hard.

In the morning your brain is all foggy and you really don’t have a reason for anything in life besides snuggling back into those warm sheets.

I had to wrestle my mind on this one.

I found it especially difficult when I couldn’t find motivation for those new hours I had added to my day.

I’d sit. Blankly. Trying to remember why this was such a good idea.

DON’T BE DISCOURAGED! Don’t give up. There is HOPE.

I only mentioned this to say “just keep swimming”!

It doesn’t last forever. Soon, you’ll wake up much more liberated and those extra hours will fly by filled with productivity and motivation like the rest of the day does.

Below are the tips I found to work the best.

(Each one tried and proven to work.  Trust me, there were quite a few that just didn’t fit the bill.)

  1. Sleep with your phone away from your bed.

I use the alarm built into my phone, so right before bed, I set the volume pretty loud and plug it in across the room. This also helps me the night before. I’m able to wind down without a distraction.

 

  1. Wake up to a song you don’t mind hearing first thing in the morning.

This drives Curly insane, but it really helps me wake up slowly and be happy to face the day, vs having some random noise sounding violently. Every. Single. Morning.

 

  1. Don’t turn off of your alarm until you’ve. .

This is the kicker. I don’t allow myself to turn off my alarm until I’m on my feet, have opened the window, and completely made my bed. Let’s just say you need to really like the song you choose for an alarm.

 

  1. Have a set morning routine.

When I wake up, I have a to-do list that must be done every single morning. This helps me stay busy which keeps me from climbing back in bed thinking there is nothing to be done.

 

  1. Set your coffee maker the night before.

Because. Obviously.

 

Simple, right?

Now make a morning routine.

Mine looks something like this:

  1. I wake up anywhere from 6:30-7:30 depending on our schedule and the sleep I need. I’m growing a little human after all and Curly really doesn’t care for me to miss too much sleep. **Note. During the first week I woke up at 7 regardless of my sleep the night before.
  2. I get up, open the windows, make my bed, and finally turn off my alarm.
  3. I then wash my face and start a load of laundry.
  4. Next, I go get some coffee. Also, I fill up both mine and Curly’s water bottles for the day and refill the ice trays.
  5. By now it is around 7:30 and I head back to my room for my morning devotion and prayer-time. I try my best not to touch my phone before this, it doesn’t always work, but I’d really like to have spent time with God before checking social media, you know? Life is a work in progress.
  6. Around 8 I start making our breakfast.
  7. We eat at 8:30 and then do family devotion.
  8. Lastly, Curly is off to work by 9 and I start whatever tasks I have planned for the day.

 

That’s about it.

A fully rounded morning complete with quiet time, coffee, and breakfast with Curly. Also, if I get up earlier than 7, I am able to squeeze in my hair and makeup routine, but I normally tackle that when Curly leaves for work.

 

I hope you find some of these tips helpful and you’re inspired to extend your day!

I’m more than thrilled that I have finally tackled this venture in my life, and if I can do it, anyone can.

Just remember:

  • practice makes permanent
  • It takes 21 days to form a habit
  • The Lord promises, “… those that seek me early, shall find me.” Proverbs 8:17
  • Last but not least. Just do it.

  
   
Good luck, lovely humans and have a great week!

 

Love,

a dreamer.

4 thoughts on “Becoming a Morning Person.

  1. What a lovely wifey you are becoming! I am so proud of you – I know how much you love sleeping in, so this is not an easy thing you’ve tackled. It is a loving and sacrificial thing, though, to overcome the old ways and form new ways that benefit you and bless your curly haired man. Love you muchly, Cauley dear. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

