Days eight, ten, and eleven. // Ramble Warning

Sitting cross legged on my beloved bed, with a slice of leftover birthday cake (chocolate, of course), wearing a cardigan shaped piece of perfection (made by Urban Outfitters), drinking coffee from the most darling mug, and listening to Taylor on loop (yes, I’m that girl).

Saturday bliss, am I right? All except for this nagging feeling that I’ve failed the challenge I set before myself. If you know me, you know I can be pretty hard on myself when I think I’ve failed.

As you may have observed, I haven’t included much enthusiasm in my last posts and I’ve missed more days then I’d hoped to.

Well, actually I have a good explanation! . . . Or, I have an explanation. Good is a relative term, in which case, you’ll have to decide for yourself it’s acceptable.

|| Let’s see. . . I’m trying to figure out to successfully describe my “feelings”.

Okay.

So I have this mental condition happening thing. It’s like an overwhelming inspiration that completely consumes me, to the point where I can’t sleep well or talk about anything else.

Tuesday, I was obsessed with this enormous desire to create clothes. Dresses to be precise. I had to draft patterns using random paper and note books and nearly cut up every piece of cloth, longer then three feet, that I could get my hands on. Thankfully my curtains are still intact. I can’t say as much for my bed sheets. .

Anyways. I knew from past experience if I didn’t utilize the existing flare of inspiration, it would eventually dull and burn out. So I put life on hold and got to it!

It’s quite astonishing how many free tutorials are on the internet now. I was able to learn about both design and technique.

All of Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday were used to absorb, learn, get frustrated, lose sleep, sew, poke my fingers, sketch, and make a mighty thread based mess.

One of the dresses I completed didn’t quite turn out how I was imagining. I learned it was due to the type of material I used. It being thicker than that of the tutorial, the finished dress is a bit stiffer then I would’ve liked. I love the shape and plan to use a different fabric with the exact same pattern to create a more flexible dress in the near future.

The second dress I attempted, I ended up putting away for now. . Let’s just say, that’s the one that made me most frustrated. Thankfully, I made it out of an old sheet, so I was able to practice the pattern without ruining some of my more expensive material.

The last dress was the most successful. I used a blue/teal, silky knit type fabric, to create a boxy cut maxi dress. I love this one. I ended up wearing it yesterday when Curly took me out for my birthday. I found the material to be warmer then I expected. I guess because it’s made out of a bathing suit kind of fabric.

image8

I’m pretty hard on my own “makes”, so the entire time I wear a piece of jewelry or clothes I’ve created, I find the flaws and ponder solutions to fix them. I guess I’m the type artist who never things her work is finished.

All in all, I adored the whole experience.

I’m pretty sure the artist inside of me, lives for those powerful moments of  awe-inspiring passion. The Lord is so wonderful for providing me all I need to grow and learn about anything that sparks my interest!

I can’t wait to get my hands on more suitable fabrics to work with, but until then, my fire is tamed and I’m able to focus on my more important responsibilities, for example, actually feeding my husband at lunch time!

Okay, so I guess that pretty much covers day eight.

My conclusion–

I don’t think I’ve failed this challenge, I think its working just how I hoped it would. In the process of finding things to blog about, I struck gold and stirred up my creative juices, which is a priceless feeling, let me tell you! The way God orchestrates our thought pattern and emotions in harmonic perfection is baffling, but I could go on about that for hours.

So. Truthfully, it wasn’t failure at all, but success!

|| As for missing yesterday’s post. That was because of my birthday and my attempt to be all there in every second. Completely devoured by each moment.

Noticing the way Curly kisses the back of my hand when we’re on long drives.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Or witnessing the cities golden sparkle on a Friday night.

The beaming beauty of an old couple walking—hands finger-locked, strolling down the street. 

The bold window displays, flawlessly portraying the shops inventive taste, while simultaneously capturing the artists design.

The enthusiastic smiles and cheery nature of strangers finding out it’s your birthday.

It was a beautiful day.

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Curly took me to Birmingham for big city shopping.

image9 image4

Found an adorable little coffee shop that has latte art and is decorated with lights and antique doors.

image10 image11Rocked out with me to music in the car.

image5

Made me an entire batch of healthy cookies to curb my munchies.

And had an extreme amount of patience for a guy, concerning my indecisive nature and exhaustive shopping abilities. 

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Afterward, we cuddled on the couch and watched Spirit (because it’s tradition and obviously).

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

The Lord is so gracious. He has blessed me with a man who actually makes me happy to grow older, because I love every moment of my life with him in it.

So that’s it! That’s all the excuse and explanation I have. I’m satisfied; I hope you are too.

I’ve decided to rest from posting on Sundays so I wont be distracted, but I plan to post a haul of all of my findings from yesterday on Monday.

Have a great weekend!

Love,

a dreamer.

2 thoughts on “Days eight, ten, and eleven. // Ramble Warning

Leave a Reply

